Colors

Life is full of colors, it is what makes our world more interesting and beautiful rather than being dull and boring, everything in this world has a color even your clothes, and I know that is obvious but it sounded good in my head πŸŒšπŸ˜‚, but that is why you should learn about colors if you want to create better outfits.

 First of all there is complimentary colors, which are basically two colors that are opposite of each other in the color wheel, and alot of designers and stylists use complimentary colors to create what they call color blocking, so they basically use two opposite colors or complimentary colors ( however you want to call it) in one outfit.

 In my opinion though color blocking is not always perfect, yes it always attracts attention, but there is a thin line between looking like a walking traffic signal, and looking like a well put colorful confident man, so you should always becareful when you are color blocking, and you should be sensible, obviously you don’t have to color block the whole outfit, you can do simple things such as wearing red socks under your blue chinos or slacks so they pop up more, so you can always color block the small details of your outfit so they pop up more.

 Then there is analogous colors, which are groups of three colors that are next to each other on the color wheel, with one being the dominant color, which tends to be a primary or secondary color, and a tertiary. Red, orange, and red-orange are examples.

 And these kind of colors are easier to match together and play around with, because these colors are next to each other, they are a bit similar so they don’t look crazy and out there, so for example you can wear navy blue chinos with an aqua blue or baby blue shirt and it will look amazing.

 Finally there is monochrome colors, which are the colors black, grey, and white, they are basically the two ends of the spectrum with grey being the combination of both. And that is because white things reflect light, while black things absorb light, but I bet you already knew that.

 And monochrome colors are the safe ground when it comes to colors and style, you can never go wrong with these colors since they match everything, that is why I always advise people to stick with these colors if they dont feel comfortable experimenting with different colors, but the down side to monochrome colors is that they are a bit too dull sometimes, but you can always make monochrome outfits more interesting by wearing colorful accessories, it is simple but it looks perfect when it is pulled off perfectly. 

 Here you can see some outfits with different types of color combinations: 

 

 So choose your colors wisely gentlemen. πŸ’™β€οΈ 

 Qotd: What are the two colors that you always wear together? πŸ€”

 And please check my Instagram ( @theyounggentlemanxo) where I post daily about men’s style and lifestyle. πŸ’•πŸ˜Š

10 Comments Add yours

  1. blast3 says:

    Blue and black go well , but black is not really a colour

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I believe it is but I am not quite sure maybe you have a different idea or information, unless you mean that black is not on the color wheel then ya you are right, but ya they do go well together, I enjoy matching them together, and thanks for the nice comment πŸ’•πŸ˜Š

      Like

  2. The two colors I wear together ranges from black and white, although I know they aren’t colors but rather shades, hahaha. I am into a minimalist kind of wardrobe and I just love how simple and easy the colors are to mix and match with a few other pieces.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I also love owning a minimalistic wardrobe, and I have a whole post about that, so I know what you mean, but I also love experimenting with colors, so I wrote this post to educate my readers as much as I can about colors and style, and thanks alot for your amazing comment πŸ’•β€οΈ

      Liked by 2 people

  3. zing901 says:

    Definitely Black and White! Most of my clothes in my wardrobe are black and white. Love these two colors rather than pink although I’m a girl. I feel that these two color can mix well with other color.

    I just started my blog and hope that you can give me a follow and some support. πŸ˜€
    https://zing901.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ya they are really fun to play with since you can wear them with any other color you may think of, and sure thing πŸ’•πŸ˜Š Thanks for the comment tooπŸ˜ƒ

      Like

  4. Eugenia says:

    Excellent post! I love black because it is interesting to work with.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it is, and thanks alot for the comment πŸ’•β€οΈ

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Another nice post! I love black but what is fashion or even art without color?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and I agree, we all need some color in our lives, and style. πŸ˜‹

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

